de | en | fr | tr

Passivhouse »Wohnen & Arbeiten«

Walter-Gropius-Strasse 22 • D-79100 Freiburg
Vox: (0761) 4568330 • Fax: (0761) 45683437
Email: post(at)passivhaus-vauban.de • Web: www.passivhaus-vauban.de
The Idea 
What is a Passivehouse? 
Why an alternative Sanitation Concept? 
Energy Concept 
Research Outcomes 
The Cost 
Co-generation Unit
Sanitation Concept 
Biogas Plant 
Grey Water Facility 
Architecture 
Residents, Owners 
Guided Tours 
Art Project 
Download 
Contact 
Credits 
  

The Small Co-generation Unit

  Sachs HKA-Co-generation Unit
 
  Click on the picture to enlarge:1024 x 768
   
  BHKW (opened)
 
   
  Interior View of BHKW
 
   
  Warm Water Connection of the Washing Machines
 

In the planning period of the houses, it was clear at an early stage, that the Vauban territory would be equipped with a local heating network: An ecologically progressive procedure, particularly with Holz-BHKW which is actualized by Badenova. In principle, we would have chosen this network, however...

Are Local Heating and Passivehouses Incompatible?

When a community of a development area chooses a local or long-distance heating network, everyone has an obligation for alignment and use: every owner is obligated to join, since with a low level of participation such a network would not be economicaly or ecologically sensible.

Because the cost of the installation of a heating network is really high, (and because one wants to provide the consumers with cost-effective heating), it is conventionally and legally allowed, to shift the cost of the network (upto 70%) onto the consumers rightaway. Only 30% is paid by the provider, which, from the beginning, has a reliable customer base and a monopoly in the region. The so-called "additional connection costs" are levied per square meter of living area, independent of how much heat would actually be used later.

If we had agreed on the alignment for the local heating, we alone would have had to pay *** € for the additional connection costs for the whole house. This amount may be acceptable for a house with normal heating standards, since this sum for the most part is more favorable than a comparable installation, for example, a gas boiler. Due to our very low heating needs, this meant that we had to pay more money than we had to for a small gas-operated co-generation plant, with which we sympathized anyway since in that case, we could produce another part of our electricity ourselves and more ecologically than the traditional way allows for.

The logic and the justification -quasi "preamble"- of having to align oneself with the network enabled by the legislator, is "the cost-effective and reliable supply of heat". However, cost-effectiveness would not have been the case for us.

Private Electricity and Heat Production Cheaper than Local Heating!

The direction of the negotiations was clear: The postulated connection price was too high for us; we had built this house also so we could save some money. In the negotiations, we, the city and the energy supplier have agreed on that we, as the passive house residents/owners would come clear from the connection price and the obligation to use the local system. This was only on the condition that we would really build a passivehouse and would not try to avoid the regulations. This was for us, a task that we happily would comply with.

After considering the pros and cons of a local heating system, we can come to the conclusion that local heating systems and particularly the "combined heat and power generation" system has a big and important potential for especially old buildings. However for passivehouses, which already have very small energy requirements, local heating systems do not make economical and ecological sense.


  What does Combined Heat and Power Generation (CHP) Mean?
  With the traditional power generation via combustion engines, turbines, or steam (for example in power stations operated by oil, coal, gas, timber or uranium) only a third of the energy input (chemical energy in form of fuel) is transformed into electricity. The rest is industrial waste heat which mostly ends up not being used, escapes into the atmosphere through cooling towers.

By using combined heat and power generation, one attempts to avoid this wastefulness by using the waste heat wisely, for example to heat the rooms. Because the heat can not be produced and transported discretionarily warm (a good isolation for district heating pipeline is very expensive), the waste heat from big power plants can not be used for the heating need of the cities, eventhough it would have been the best option. Moreover, noone wants to live close to a power plant (inherently because of the local emissions) or even more certainly near a nuclear power plant. Therefore, there is still wastefulness (and certainly the electricity cartels, before and after the war, made sure that all of the Europe had fully inefficient power generation, even when higher technologies were available).

When one wants to use the waste heat emerging from electricity production sensibly (combined heat and power generation), one needs smaller devices: This would be a co-generation unit as the power generator. The market for these small power generators was very small in the beginning, so it was very costly to produce these units. Moreover, the electricity cartel still has the market in its control; the consumers are charged 17 cents per kilowatt hour when a charge 3 cents per kilowatt hour is feasable for public supply of electricity. For a wheeling to the Neigbors, the electricity supplier asks for virtually 15 cents. They act as if electricity in arbitrary amounts was available free of charge and as if only the wheeling was extremely expensive. Therefore, it was very hard for the alternative electric generators to fight against the monopoly. Since 1998, by Jürgen Trittin's EEG (Energy-Injection-Law, prepared by Klaus Toepfer), there has been an increased move towards regenerative electricity production in the market.


Translation: Selin Devranoglu 2005
 
 
The Idea 
What is a Passivehouse? 
Why an alternative Sanitation Concept? 
Energy Concept 
Research Outcomes 
The Cost 
Co-generation Unit
Sanitation Concept 
Biogas Plant 
Grey Water Facility 
Architecture 
Residents, Owners 
Guided Tours 
Art Project 
Download 
Contact 
Credits 
(greyed out items are only available in the german navigation, sorry!)

de | en | fr | tr

Passivhaus »Wohnen & Arbeiten«

Walter-Gropius-Strasse 22 • D-79100 Freiburg • Vox: (0761) 4568330
Email: post(at)passivhaus-vauban.de • Web: www.passivhaus-vauban.de
Die Idee 
Was ist ein Passivhaus? 
Warum ein alternatives Sanitärkonzept? 
Energiekonzept 
Forschungsergebnisse 
Kosten 
Blockheizkraftwerk
Sanitärkonzept 
Biogasanlage 
Grauwasseranlage 
Architektur 
Bewohner, Bauherren 
Führungen 
Download 
Kontakt 
Impressum 
  

Das Klein-Blockheizkraftwerk

  Sachs HKA-Blockheizkraftwerk
 
  Klick auf die Bilder öffnet 1024 x 768
   
  BHKW (geöffnet)
 
   
  Innenansicht BHKW
 
   
  Warmwasseranschluss Waschmaschinen
 

In der Planungsphase des Hauses war recht früh klar, daß das Vaubangelände über ein Nahwärmenetz mit Wärme versorgt werden würde. An sich eine ökologisch fortschrittliche Maßnahme, vor allem mit dem von der badenova realisierten Holz-BHKW. Wir hätten uns im Prinzip auch gerne an das Nahwärmenetz angeschlossen, wenn da nicht...

Nahwärme und Passivhäuser: Inkompatibel?

Wenn eine Gemeinde ein Neubaugebiet mit Nah- oder Fernwärme versorgen will, hat sie dazu das Instrument des Anschluß- und Benutzungszwanges: Jeder Bauherr ist verpflichtet, sich anschließen zu lassen, da bei einer zu geringen Gesamtauslastung ein solches Netz nicht wirtschaftlich und damit auch nicht ökologisch sinnvoll wäre.

Da die Kosten der Neuinstallation eines Wärmenetzes recht hoch sind (und da man den Abnehmern zwar eine kostengünstige Wärmeversorgung wünscht, den "Heizkessel aber nicht herschenken will"), ist es üblich und gesetzlich erlaubt, bis zu 70% der Netzkosten sofort auf die Abnehmer abzuwälzen. Nur 30% zahlt der Versorger, der vom Start weg einen großen verlässlichen Kundenstamm und ein örtliches Monopol hat. Der sogenannte Baukostenzuschuß (BKZ) wird dabei üblicherweise pro Quadratmeter Wohnfläche erhoben, unabhängig wieviel Wärme tatsächlich später verbraucht wird.

Hätten wir also dem Anschluß an die Nahwärme zugestimmt, hätten wir allein dadurch einen Baukostenzuschuß für das ganze Haus zahlen müssen, der teurer wäre als unser BHKW! Für ein Haus mit normalem Heizungsstandard mag dies ein akzeptabler Wert sein, da die Summe meist noch etwas günstiger ist als eine vergleichbare Installation zum Beispiel eines Gaskessels), bei unserem sehr geringen Wärmebedarf bedeutete dies, dass wir mehr Geld ausgegeben hätten als ein für ein gasbetriebenes Klein-Blockheizkraftwerk, mit dem wir ohnehin sympathisierten, da wir dann auch noch einen Teil des Stromes selbst und ökologischer produzieren, als dies im herkömmlichen Strommix immer noch der Fall ist.

Sinn und Rechtfertigung, quasi "Präambel" des vom Gesetzgeber ermöglichten Anschluß- und Benutzungszwanges ist "die kostengünstige und sichere Versorgung mit Wärme". Ersteres wäre bei uns nicht der Fall gewesen.

Eigene Strom-und Wärmeerzeugung billiger als Nahwärme!

Die Verhandlungsrichtung war klar: Der geforderte Anschlußpreis war für uns viel zu hoch; wir haben das Haus ja auch gebaut, um Kosten zu sparen. Also haben wir in Verhandlungen mit der Stadt und dem Energieversorger erreicht, daß wir vom Anschluß- und Benutzungszwang freikamen unter der Bedingung, daß wir auch wirklich ein Passiivhaus bauen und nicht etwa versuchen, die Regelungen zu unterlaufen. Für uns eine übung, der wir uns gerne unterworfen haben.

Nach Abwägung des Für- und Wider einer Nahwärmeversorgung können wir festhalten, daß zwar Nahwärme und vor allem Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung vor allem im Altbau noch ein riesiges und wichtiges Potential hat, Passivhäuser aber schon einen so geringen Wärmebedarf aufweisen, daß Nahwärme sowohl finanziell als auch ökologisch (wegen der spezifisch höheren Verteilverluste) keinen Sinn macht.


  Was bedeutet Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung und BHKW?
  Bei der herkömmlichen Stromerzeugung durch Verbrennungsmotoren, Turbinen oder Dampf wie bei Kraftwerken, die mit öl, Kohle, Gas oder auch Holz und Uran betrieben wird, wird nur etwa ein Drittel der eingesetzten Energie (chemische Energie in Form des Brennstoffs) in elektrischen Strom umgewandelt. Der Rest ist Abwärme, die meist ungenutzt über Kühltürme in die Atmosphäre oder in Flüsse entweicht.

Unter Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung versteht man jegliche Versuche, diese Verschwendung zu vermeiden und die Abwärme sinnvoll zu nutzen, zum Beispiel zur Raumheizung. Da aber Wärme nicht beliebig heiß erzeugt und transportiert werden kann (Eine gute Wärmedämmung für Fernwärmeleitungen ist sehr teuer), kann man die Abwärme von großen Kraftwerken nicht zur Heizung von Städten nutzen, obwohl das natürlich das Beste wäre. Niemand will neben einem Kraftwerk wohnen (schon wegen der lokalen Emissionen) und schon gar nicht neben einem Atomkraftwerk. Deshalb gibt es nach wie vor die Verschwendung (und natürlich Stromkartelle vor und nach dem 2. Weltkrieg dafür gesorgt haben, daß wir in ganz Europa eine so gesehen völlig ineffiziente, wenn auch hochtechnisierte Stromerzeugung haben.)

Will man Abwärme bei der Stromproduktion sinnvoll nutzen (Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung), braucht man also kleinere Einheiten: Aus dem Heizkraftwerk wurde das Block-Heizkraftwerk. Skurrilerweise hatten es die Hersteller dieser kleinen Stromerzeuger sehr schwer, da zu Anfang der Markt nur recht klein war. Das Stromkartell hat den Markt auch heute noch immer noch so gut im Griff, daß für eine Kilowattstunde ins öffentliche Netz eingespeisten Strom nur 3 Cent bezahlt werden muß, während der Nachbar gleichzeitig 17 cent für denselben Strom zahlen muß. Für eine Durchleitung zum Nachbarn verlangen die Energieversorger faktisch 15 Cent. Sie tun so, als wäre Strom in beliebiger Menge kostenlos vorhanden und nur die Durchleitung wäre extrem teuer. Deshalb hatten es alle alternativen Stromerzeuger bisher sehr schwer, gegen die Monopole anzukämpfen. Seit 1998 kehrt nun endlich durch das EEG (Energie-Einspeise-Gesetz) von Jürgen Trittin (vorbereitet von Klaus Töpfer) zumindest für Regenerativstrom Bewegung in den Markt.


Nächste Seite: Das alternative Sanitärkonzept